UPDATE (12/21/2023): I have allowed my Washington State real estate broker's license to expire effective this month. For now, I have exited the real estate consulting business and will concentrate on other local and regional public policy contracting here in Texas, including on issues related to historic preservation, economic development, and industrial nearshoring.


My wife Nan and I founded Emelessence at Anacortes, Washington in 2006. Our original mission was to provide up-to-date summaries of real estate data and economic reports to a leading affiliated brokerage of an international residential real estate brand. In 2022, we relocated to and registered in the State of Texas. We continue to offer a combination of real estate consulting, investigation, data analytics, reporting, editing, and translation solutions.

I am a research author and analyst, former 10-year Washington State real estate licensee, and veteran of two Big Four audit firms in Shanghai, China. Effective 2 January 2024, I plan to return to my original publishing schedule for Emelessence: twice weekly at 8:00 a.m. U.S. Mountain time on Tuesdays and Fridays.

William Hillis